Andersen CEO Stands with Minnesota Business Leaders in Response to Recent Tragedy

After the death of George Floyd in Minneapolis, Andersen's Chairman and CEO Jay Lund joined more than 40 executive leaders from across the state to stand united against acts of racism and violence. The collective statement was shared on May 28, 2020, underscoring these business leaders’ commitment to the principles of greater equity, diversity and inclusion in their companies and communities.

Minnesota CEOs join Children's Minnesota in response to recent tragedy
Executive leaders urge the community to address structural racism

As business leaders in Minnesota committed to the principles of greater equity, diversity and inclusion in our companies and in our community, we are deeply saddened and horrified by the recent death of Mr. George Floyd. We share our sincere condolences with his family and friends, and all those who mourn this tragic loss. His death while being restrained by Minneapolis police officers is yet another senseless loss of life—one that reflects deeply ingrained, long-standing injustice within our society.

We are encouraged by the quick response of the authorities in terminating the officers and launching an investigation. We anticipate that it will lead to justice and accountability. It is hard to watch the video of the event as it is clearly evident Mr. Floyd was not treated with the dignity and respect he was due as a human being. These acts are painful and traumatic for our entire community, especially our communities of color.

The repeated occurrence of racially charged events of this nature are contrary to the close-knit employment and residential communities we desire to have in Minnesota. We are committed to taking steps to eliminate the repeat of events like this in our society and committed to investing in substantive change in our organizations and the communities we serve to address racial inequities and social justice. Change has to start today, and it needs to start with us.

Michael F. Roman - 3M
Penny Wheeler, MD  - Allina Health
Jay Lund - Andersen Corporation
Russell Becker  - APi Group
Amy Ronneberg  - Be The Match
Corie Barry  - Best Buy
Craig E. Samitt, MD  - Blue Cross MN
David MacLennan  - Cargill
Marc Gorelick, MD  - Children’s Minnesota
Bob Biesterfeld  - C.H. Robinson
Barry C. McCarthy  - Deluxe Corporation
Ron Konezny  - Digi International
Paul Sween  - Dominium
Doug Baker  - Ecolab
Greg Mason  - Edina Realty Homes Services
Michael J. O’Leary  - Ernst & Young LLP
James Hereford  - Fairview Health Services
Bob Gardner  - Gardner Builders
Jeff Harmening  - General Mills
Amy Goldman  - GHR Foundation
Peter Frosch  - Greater MSP
Mark G. Mishek  - Hazelden Betty Ford Foundation
Andrea Walsh  - HealthPartners
Jennifer DeCubellis  - Hennepin Healthcare
Beth E. Ford  - Land O’Lakes, Inc.
Greg Frankenfield  - Magenic
Michelle Edwards  - Martell Diagnostics
John Naylor  - Medica
Geoff Martha  - Medtronic
Mark Westphal  - Michael Foods
Charlie Weaver  - Minnesota Business Partnership
Craig Leipold  - Minnesota Wild
Daniel L. Johnson  - Mortenson Construction
David C. Mortenson  - Mortenson Construction
J. Kevin Croston, MD  - North Memorial Health
Nico Wyrobek  - Northstar Balloons LLC ; Morris Packaging Minnesota LLC
Timothy Murnane  - The Opus Group
Chad Abraham  - Piper Sandler Companies
Howard Friedman  - Post Consumer Brands
Eric J. Mercer  - PricewaterhouseCoopers Advisory Services LLC
Michael Armstrong  - RBC Wealth Management
Tom Sagissor  - RBC Wealth Management
Mark Urdahl  - Red Wing Shoes
Brian C. Murray  - Ryan Companies US, Inc.
Lisa Brezonik  - Salo, LLC
Christopher M. Hilger  - Securian Financial Group, Inc.
Drew Niemeyer  - Smarte Carte
Archie Black  - SPS Commerce
Brian Cornell  - Target
Terry Rasmussen  - Thrivent
David Wichmann  - UnitedHealth Group
Julie Sullivan  - University of St. Thomas
Bill Gray  - Uponor North America
Andrew Cecere  - US Bank
Laurie Nordquist  - Wells Fargo MN
Michael J. Happe  - Winnebago Industries
Ben Fowke  - Xcel Energy, Inc.
Glen Gunderson  - YMCA of the Greater Twin Cities

Posted: May 29, 2020